NSW RL24 State Championships Illawarra Yacht Club March 2022

A good fleet of 6 x RL24s participated in the 2021-2022 NSW RL24 State Championships. The venue was Illawarra Yacht Club in Wollongong NSW. There were 3 RL24s from the Wollongong area, 1 from Gerroa and 2 from Batemans Bay.

Good sailing over the weekend ensured some close sailing between the RL24s. On Saturday there were 2 races with a fresh wind in the 15-18 knots range from the South. In both races *Ringleader* sailed by Colin Boylan. Amy Boylan, Jenyne Norris and Glen Lemass enjoyed the fresh conditions and won both races. In the first race, *Ringleader* had a good win. Only 70 seconds separated 2nd place to 5th place with *Free Spirit* #360 sailed by David and Andy Walsh in 2nd place, *Yaminji* #150 sailed by Peter Smith was in 3rd place with *Flying Dutchman* #613 sailed by Peter Warde and David Qi taking out 4th place and *Kandyman* #508 sailed by Ian Green, Michael Leishamn and David Green finishing in 5th place.

Race 2 saw *Ringleader* in the lead and finish in 1st Place. *Flying Dutchman* came in 2nd place followed by *Yaminji* and then *Free Spirit*. Kandyman finished in 5th place and *Endless Summer 5* sailed by Bill Janucey did not finish.

Sunday was totally different. A very light breeze ranging from 1 to 4 knots saw the fleet start the Around Lake Illawarra course at 11.00am. *Free Spirit* sailed very well and handled the very light conditions better than everyone else. Free Spirit finished in 1st place, followed by *Ringleader*. 3rd place went to *Yaminji* and 4th place went to *Kandyman*. *Flying Dutchman* finished in 5th place. *Endless Summer 5* did not start in race 3.

Overall results for the 2021-2022 NSW State Championships were:

Boat Name	Skipper	Race 1	Race 2	Race 3	Total	Place
Ringleader	Colin Boylan	0.75	0.75	2	3.5	1st
Flying Dutchman	Peter Warde	4	2	5	11	4th
Free Spirit	David Walsh	2	4	0.75	6.75	2nd
Yaminji	Peter Smith	3	3	3	9	3 rd
Endless Summer 5	Bill Jauncey	7	7	7	21	6 th
Kandyman	Ian Green	5	5	3	14	5th

In conjunction with the Championships, a Handicap series was conducted over the 3 heats. Overall handicap winner went to *Free Spirit* sailed by David Walsh and Andy Walsh with a total of 4.75points. Second place went to *Flying Dutchman* sailed by

Peter Warde with a total of 8.75 points. Third place went to *Yaminji* sailed by Peter Smith with a total of 9 points. Fourth place went to *Ringleader* sailed by Colin Boylan with a total of 9.75 points. Fifth place went to *Kandyman* sailed by Ian Green with a total of 12 points and sixth place went to *Endless Summer 5* sailed by Bill Jauncey



